BK Flame – A Viral Infection?

My apologies for the lack of updates – it’s the holiday season and I’ve been running around trying to get shopping, baking, cooking and wrapping all finished. As a result, my blog has been set on low on the back burner 😉

Have it your way.. with BK Flame?

Have it your way.. with BK Flame?

Last week, I encountered a viral marketing campaign that truly made me laugh out loud. It perfectly ties together both of the IMC classes I’m almost finished with this term – Brand Equity Management and New Media & the Market.

According to a local Froggy radio DJ, Burger King is selling a new cologne for men called Flame. The scent is described as, “Body spray of seduction, with a hint of flame-broiled meat” (http://www.firemeetsdesire.com, 2008).

After I almost wrecked my car from laughing too hard about this creation, I knew I had to investigate further. Well, it wasn’t a joke like I initially thought. The website for the scent is http://www.firemeetsdesire.com/.

Upon exploring the site, I’m now convinced that I will have nightmares for the rest of my life of the Burger King mascot, the King. Let me explain… I clicked on the website and several scenes were depicted to go along with the tag line – “Set the mood no matter what mood you’re in.” One scene was a luxurious bubble bath; another was a blanket of beautiful red roses I could almost smell. There was a champagne glass being filled with bubbly, too. Then, I pressed my luck too far. The next scene was the Burger King, almost naked. He had a blanket cover his nether regions, and seductively uses his finger to motion “come here.”

I immediately called my closest friends and shared this website with them. They couldn’t get enough of it. I e-mailed some other friends, urging them to share the message, as I couldn’t believe it was real. What a creative viral campaign!

Viral campaigns can be great for companies wanting to garner attention and sell products. I found some simple rules to create a successful viral marketing campaign. They came from another blog who cited Jennifer Laycock of Search Engine Guide.

1. Thou Shalt Know Thy Costumer – in order to successfully market to the correct customers, you need to know a bit about those customers. Listen to their feedback and get involved in their online communities. This first hand knowledge will really come in handy when creating strategic messaging

2. Thou Shalt Be Remarkable – You must be different to get attention in this world. Creating the same old “me too” campaigns wont get nearly as much coverage and buzz as being the first to do something great. An amazing message should translate into an amazing company.

3. Though Shalt Try, Try Again – You can’t know what is going to happen with a campaign idea until you have initiated it and tested it out. Not all campaigns will be come viral. But with each new campaign you learn more about the process, more about the messaging and more about the consumer so the next time, you’ll get it right.

This BK Flame website and buzz ties into the other IMC class I’m taking as it’s an interesting brand extension. Many brands have launched unsuccessful extensions which could cause damage to brand equity. Some examples are Cosmopolitan (the magazine) yogurt and dairy products, Harley Davidson cake decorating kits, and Everlast cologne. The discussion about the effect of the BK Flame scent on brand equity is a completely different topic for another day. Only the future can tell what this will do for the fast food giant.

Signing off,

Julie

References:

Larson, Dana. (2008 August 18). SES San Jose: Igniting Viral Campaigns. Retrieved on December 22, 2008 from http://www.toprankblog.com/2008/08/ses-san-jose-igniting-viral-campaigns/

FlameMeetsDesire.com

December 22, 2008. Tags: , , , , . IMC.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

